Equality in the workplace

Equality in the workplace

Every day, Florey researchers and staff come to work with the aim of furthering our understanding of the brain and to improve the human condition. We are striving to make the Florey a great place to work, where both men and women can reach their potential.

The Equality in Science Committee (EqIS) works to create conditions in which staff can operate to their full potential and work together cohesively. This working committee has broad representation from professional and academic staff to ensure relevant equity and staff development issues can be canvassed. Our committee structure consists of six subgroups working in the areas of mentoring, parenting, policy and strategy, communications, leadership and cultural diversity.

Our aims

  1. To identify workplace issues that impede career progression and potentially scientific research outcomes;
  2. Communicate these issues to the Institute’s Executive members and propose solutions;
  3. Improve career development opportunities (including training and networking) at the Florey Institute of Neuroscience and Mental Health;
  4. Develop guidelines and promote transparency in relation to parental leave, while providing support to ensure the continuation of research while employees are away from the workplace;
  5. Form broader external networks, with a primary aim to increase awareness of a need for equality in the work place and develop cross cultural solutions as to how to achieve this in the workplace environment;
  6. Lobby and improve general outcomes for women and/or those with personal circumstances that affect career performance and progression in scientific careers;
  7. Source funds to support individuals experiencing or who have experienced career disruption. The aim of providing this funding support is to minimise the effects of career interruption on research outcomes and support the career advancement of these individuals.

We work closely with the Women in Science Parkville Precinct (or WiSPP), a collective of the five major medical research institutes in Parkville, including the Florey.

For more information please visit their website: https://www.wispp.org.au


Co-Chairs: Christina Perry and Nathalie Braussaud

Secretary: Nirma Perera

General members: Amanda Place, Andrea Gogos, Andrew Gundlach, Brett Purcell, Carmen Lahiff-Jenkins, Christina Perry, Despina Ganella, Emma Burrows, Fiona Ellery, Geoff Donnan, Julie Bernhardt, Jhodie Duncan, Katherine Jackman, Karin Sitte, Lindsea Booth, Nathalie Braussaud, Nicole Jenkins, Philip Beart, Rishma Vidyasagar, Robyn Brown, Rodi Neri, Rose Crossin, Sharon Kramer, Jane Standish, Toby Cumming, Tina Kaffenberger, Wah Chin Boon, Karen Borschmann, Kristal Figiel, Laura Bell, Melissa Perenc, Michele Binder, Pannilage Nirma Perera, Peter Goodin, Vanessa Brait, Ye Liu (Alice), Brian Fleming, Snezana Maljevic, Chris Tailby, Liam Johnson, Thijs Dhollander, Simon Mckenzie-Nickson.

As a very active working committee, we have several sub-committees reporting to the main secretariat each month. These groups include policy and strategy, parent support, mentoring, leadership, and cultural diversity.

Support us

Brain health affects all Australians.
You can support our research by making a donation or a bequest.


Latest breakthroughs, news, events & more.